Nestled in the University of Oxford‘s grand Bodleian Library is one of the oldest and most beautiful reading rooms in Europe. Named after Humphrey of Lancaster—the 1st Duke of Gloucester and the son of King Henry IV of England. Duke Humfrey’s Library was built between 1450 and 1480.
Though it initially housed music, maps, and rare books, it now also offers a cozy and quiet place to read, study, and work.
As a lover of literature, Duke Humfrey amassed a large, multilingual collection of books throughout his life. When Duke Humfrey 1447, he donated them to Oxford University, and the reading room was specially built to contain them. Originally, the reading room possessed 281 of the duke’s manuscripts, but, today, it only has 3.